The Cape Cod Climate Change Collaborative

Established in 2015, the Cape Cod Climate Change Collaborative is a consortium of Cape and Islands-based organizations and individuals whose mission is to unite available resources, organizations and intelligence to mitigate climate change impacts on Cape Cod, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and work toward achieving “net zero”-based goals for the region. Board members include community leaders from across the region representing organizations such as the Association to Preserve Cape Cod, Cape Air, Cape Light Compact, Center for Coastal Studies, Friends of Pleasant Bay, Outer Cape Energize, Woods Hole Research Center, and numerous faith, educational, non-profit and business entities.

Our Networks

You may find it useful to work on climate issues with similar organizations to yours — what we call 5Cs Networks. Already the first of our networks has formed, the Faith Communities Environmental Network. Co-led by Susan Starkey and Rev. Brian McGurk, this is an ecumenical group open to all faiths on Cape Cod. Read Susan’s story about the initial efforts by her church to get a concrete commitment to reducing carbon footprints. The Story of the Unitarian Church of Barnstable as an inspiring example. To join this network, contact Brian McGurk at or Susan Starkey at



Additional Collaborators

If you’d like to form another network, please contact us for more details.

Board & Staff photo by Richard Delaney.


Board of Directors

5Cs is governed by a Board of Directors drawn from representatives of its membership. Current Board members are:

Richard Delaney, Center for Coastal Studies, President
Mon Cochran, Friends of Pleasant Bay, Vice-President, Executive Director 
Fran Schofield, Pleasant Bay Community Boating
Janet Williams, Associate Director
Maggie Downey, Cape Light Compact
Sarah Griscom, Pleasant Bay Community Boating
Don Keeran, Association to Preserve Cape Cod
Brian McGurk, Faith Communities Environmental Network
Jim Wolf, Cape Air
Dave McGlinchey, Woods Hole Research Center
Lauren McKean, Cape Cod National Seashore
Liz Argo, Cape and Vineyard Electric Cooperative
Chris Kennedy, Cape Cod Regional Transit Authority





5Cs is staffed entirely by volunteers.

Mon Cochran, Executive Director
Janet Williams, Associate Director