Select Page
Congressional Democrats aim to zero out emissions from all new cars by 2035.   This is the recommendation in a 547 page report,  Solving the Climate Crisis, released by the House Select Committee on the Climate Crisis.  The document is widely seen as a climate road map for Democrats, should they win control of the Senate and White House in November’s elections.

The report recommends that all new passenger vehicles sold by 2035 should be zero-emission vehicles, including hydrogen and electric models. New heavy-duty trucks would have until 2040 to meet that target.  The report also recommends:

  • the reinstatement of stringent clean car standards;
  • the establishment of a nationwide zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) program (California leads a regional ZEV program that 10 other states have adopted);
  • extending the federal electric vehicle tax credit by five years; and
  • lifting the 200,000-vehicle cap per manufacturer (Tesla and GM have already hit the cap).
At a news conferences on the steps of the Capitol, Chairwoman Kathy Castor (D-Fla.) sold the report as a “transformative road map” for climate policy. “We chart the course to good-paying American jobs in solar and wind energy, in manufacturing American-made clean energy and clean electric vehicles,” she said.
The report offers a range of policy recommendations across the economy, including a clean energy standard for the power sector, a price on carbon, and investments in infrastructure and public lands.
It would also end tax breaks for oil and gas extraction, extend credits for solar and encourage natural carbon sequestration through the agriculture sector.
The report includes several new proposed programs that have been well-trod in environmental circles in recent years. They include a National Climate Bank and a reestablished Civilian Conservation Corps to build climate resilience projects.
Environmental justice is a major focus throughout, but the report also recommends Congress enact the “Environmental Justice for All Act,” the sweeping EJ bill written over the past year by Reps. Raúl Grijalva (D-Ariz.) and Donald McEachin (D-Va.), with input from communities around the country.